The Marriage License Division of the Tulsa County Court Clerk’s Office is located on the second floor of the Tulsa County Courthouse, 500 S. Denver, Tulsa, OK.; and at our satellite office located at 123 N. Main Street, Broken Arrow, OK. To apply for a marriage license both parties need to be present in the office between the hours of 8:00a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. You may contact us at 918-596-5478, or at the satellite office at 918-596-8991. A recording of this information is available by calling 918-596-5452.Copies:
To obtain a copy of a marriage license or a copy of the decree of dissolution of marriage visit the Court Clerk’s Office between the hours of 8:00a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. You may contact 918-596-5478 for marriage license assistance or 918-596-5454 for decree of dissolution of marriage.
The following information is a summary of marriage license requirements under Oklahoma law and there are other requirements than are listed here. Please refer to statutes for more detailed information. You may view these statutes (43 O.S. 1 et seq.) at the Oklahoma State Courts Network, www.oscn.net.Proof of Age and Identity:
Age 18 & Over:
Proof of age is required: State issued I.D., Birth Certificate (plus photo ID), or Passport.
Parental consent of either parent or guardian and birth certificate.
Marrige License can only be isued with an authorizing court order.
Marriage is prohibited in this state except by court order. Please refer to statute for more detailed information.Divorce:
Persons divorced in Oklahoma may not marry anyone in this state other than their previous spouse for a period of six (6) months from the date of the decree of dissolution of marriage (formally referred to as a divorce decree).Residency Requirements:
There are no residency requirements, but the marriage must be performed in Oklahoma.Waiting Period:
No waiting period required except for those under the age of 18. If under age 18, there is a 72 hour waiting period.Statutory Fees:
The application fee is $50.00. However, the fee is reduced to $5.00 if the applicants present a certificate issued by a health care professional or an official representative of a religious institution, as described by 43 O.S. 5.1, demonstrating that the applicants have completed at least 4 hours of pre-marital counseling.
Fees may be paid in cash or by credit/debit card at the Courthouse Office and ONLY by credit/debit card at the Satellite Office.Miscellaneous Matters:
To avoid waiting in line, we suggest that you apply for your license early in the day, and that you make application a few days before your scheduled wedding date, in order to provide yourself an opportunity to address any unforeseen difficulties which may be encountered in processing your license.
For marriage license purposes, the court clerk is not able to identify an applicant in any manner other than that described in the identification which the applicant has presented to the court clerk. Former names, prior divorces and the like often present identification issues if identification presented does not match the names by which applicants identify themselves. In such cases where variances of identity arise, it may be necessary to present certified copies of court orders, divorce decrees, etc., to the court clerk in order to establish identity of the applicant.
Please be aware that marriage license procedures and fees are set by statute and are subject to amendment by the legislature.
There is no longer a requirement for an officiant to come to the courthouse and register their credentials. When the officiant signs the marriage license they are certifying that they have the credentials or authority to perform marriages. There is no documentation of this required nor is the officiant any longer required to enter a book and page number where their credentials are recorded.